Engine builder on BAT (and the Maestro)

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
Bruce Smith
356 Fan

Engine builder on BAT (and the Maestro)

#1 Post by Bruce Smith »

There's a 912 motor up for auction on BAT, with some interesting (disparaging) comments about the engine builder, Richard Troy. It's a shame that they'll probably tank the seller's auction. It reminds me of some of the exchanges I've read from years ago between guys like Troy, the Maestro, and others. I'm relatively new to 356s (about 15 years), and got into them in part by reading Harry Pellow's (AKA the Maestro) books. I looked up Harry's death this AM and learned it was 20 years ago this year (March 23, 2003). I never met him, or even knew of him when he was alive, but appreciate his contributions to the hobby.
Bruce Smith

Adam Wright
Classifieds Monitor
Tag: KTF

Re: Engine builder on BAT (and the Maestro)

#2 Post by Adam Wright »

It sounds like a couple of the people have direct experience with Troy, so that is real info. I know he had a reputation as being combative towards some Registry members, but it looks like the comments are from people who actually had work done from him, not just interacted with him.
www.unobtanium-inc.com
Check out my Barn Find column in the Registry magazine, always looking for good stories.

Jim Clement
356 Fan
Tag: 1957 356 A Coupe

#3 Post by Jim Clement »

Bruce, I to have read all of the Maestro's books, I now find them kind of funny even to look at - the old type writer style, it is very indictive of the period that they are created in, and thank goodness that he did as there is lots of information in those books, and some good humor along the way..
and Yieks on the comments on the BAT engine auction.. those are harsh for sure, If I had already bid, I would be thankful for being outbid..

Doug McDonnell
356 Fan

#4 Post by Doug McDonnell »