587 Street Exhaust

Discussion of 4-Cam Type 547 engines (and all the Fuhrmann racing variants) and cars that powered them.
Bill Sargent
356 Fan
Tag: Faux-Cam

587 Street Exhaust

#1 Post by Bill Sargent »

I have been running a factory Sport 1 exhaust for several years on the 587/1 motor in my 59A. However, while it looked good and sounded great, it was LOUD. Like police follow me loud.
Sport 1 exhaust
Sport 1 exhaust
I therefore decided to make a street exhaust for the car. Jacques LeFriant’s exhaust fabricator, Bob Butler, was making some late 904 equal length headers. He was kind enough to make a custom set in stainless steel for me that are 3/4” closer to the motor and angled up 5 degrees more.
Custom headers
Custom headers
The muffler is a custom made unit normally used on 914/6s but with the exhaust pipes spaced to match the 356 A bumper cut outs. It has a large central chamber with two smaller chambers at each end.
Muffler
Muffler
Once these parts were delivered I needed to cut in the holes for the inlet tubes. I used a tool to help mark the cutout.
Tool for marking inlet tube cut out
Tool for marking inlet tube cut out
The hardest part of the job was cutting these holes and making the fit tight enough for a good TIG weld. I then got all the flanges water jet cut from 3/8” stainless. I used the same flanges that mate with the motor to join the headers to the muffler so I could use the same gaskets.
Inlet tubes cut in
Inlet tubes cut in
I then hired Ted Atkins, a local sheet metal repair expert and welder to make a house call to help tack and weld everything.
Ted welding
Ted welding
Once this was done everything went to the ceramic coating shop.
Coated muffler & headers
Coated muffler & headers