4 Cam Spark plugs

Discussion of 4-Cam Type 547 engines (and all the Fuhrmann racing variants) and cars that powered them.
Bill Sargent
356 Fan
Tag: Faux-Cam

4 Cam Spark plugs

#1 Post by Bill Sargent »

What spark plugs are 587/1,2&3 owners running for street use?

I have been running Bosch silver W4CS and have occasional fouling even with twin CD boxes.
Regards,

Bill Sargent
#151489 59A Cab - Faux Cam
#159176 64C Cab
#460603 67 912
904 clone in the works

Harlan Halsey
356 Fan

Re: 4 Cam Spark plugs

#2 Post by Harlan Halsey »

Bill,
I have no experience with 587 engines but 692 and 547 normally run retracted side gap plugs which have had a fouling problem since day 1. Faced with that issue in 1980 I solved it by running projected nose plugs. To make room I relieved the piston crown with a 1/2-inch ball end mill. I modify the projected nose plugs into side gap plugs to minimize the depth of the relief. I've never had a plug foul. A side benefit is that my plugs cost $3.00 each rather than $30.00 each.
Last edited by Harlan Halsey on Tue Apr 05, 2022 5:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

Martin Benade
356 Fan

#3 Post by Martin Benade »

A hotter plug doesn’t prevent fouling? Or will that cause detonation?
Cleveland Ohio
62 Cabriolet
56 VW
02 IS 300
04 Sienna

Jeff Adams
356 Fan

#4 Post by Jeff Adams »

The W4CS is what we run on all engines with pistons that clear the plug electrode. Are the plugs fouling with fuel or oil? Or both??

Olivier Auvray
356 Fan

#5 Post by Olivier Auvray »

For engines with carburetors, I pulled out Bosch spark plugs from my shelves since many years! NGK is my Friend! Wider thermal range and higher fouling resistance!
You have more chance to see Vladimir Putin on a gay pride's float than to see a fouled NGK spark plug!

As I'm at home, I don't have my "secret book" with me so I can tell you right now the NGK reference.

Anyway, I think that it's easy to find the right number with a cross reference table.

Harlan Halsey
356 Fan