Engine build:What would you do?

Share progress on your 356 related project or full restoration with others!
robert moglia
356 Fan

Engine build:What would you do?

#1 Post by robert moglia »

Hi all, opinions sought.
Maybe I’m getting ahead of my self here.
As I restore my A (Bob's 356A project) I’m starting to think about my engine build.
I have a happy dilemma, I have the original # matching engine AND a spare 1600. Both need a rebuild.
I’ve never built a 356 engine before.
I did rebuild my 2.4 L MFI 911 engine (and it ran well).
So what do you think? Rebuild the # matched engine as stock vs hot rodding the spare.
I don’t see rebuilding both I ain’t getting any younger!
Check out my progress! “Bob’s 356A project”
KTF
Bob

Jason Laster
356 Fan

Re: Engine build:What would you do?

#2 Post by Jason Laster »

If you know you will not undergo a double rebuild on both engines, perhaps just keep the original and then sell the spare to help fund quality parts for the OG engine rebuilt. If the spare runs now, run that while you rebuild the OG and then sale the spare. Either way, sounds like a good problem to have ;)
1963 Porsche 356B
1989 Porsche 964 Carrera 4
1962 VW 15 Window Deluxe

Doug McDonnell
356 Fan

#3 Post by Doug McDonnell »

When I bought my 64 C the original engine came inside the car in the front seat passenger side area. Installed was an AT numbered engine that the 2nd owner had purchased from Stoddard back in the day when they sold complete engines ready to install. I rebuilt the original numbers matching engine and sold the AT engine to someone with a C that had a VW engine. Paid for some of the rebuild I did of the original engine.
1965 356C 2000 BMW 740i Sport 1967 Honda CL77 There is never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over.

Kevin Wills
356 Fan

#4 Post by Kevin Wills »