52/53 questions

For Pre A discussions and questions
Jules Dielen
356 Fan

52/53 questions

#1 Post by Jules Dielen »

I have a few questions on a Pre-A bent window, built october 1952, VIN 118xx - It's a 1500S, engine 400xx. Per the Kardex it is a Typ 356 -USA-.

Would it originally have had a black steering wheel or tan? Car is fish silver-gray on navy cloth.

Also, it has the early style rectangular tail lights with the pointy round turn signals below it. I looked and looked but can't find any traces it was ever welded.. would this not be a beehive car? It also has a center brake light only (in the shine down).

Has a Keiper recliner on the passenger seat and a non reclining driver's seat.

Cloth headliner correct?

Any input welcome... please. There is more to follow
Attachments
recliner.jpg
RR 1.jpg
dash left.jpg
Jules

Water pumps are for windshield washers only.

Doug Naef
356 Fan

Re: 52/53 questions

#2 Post by Doug Naef »

I am no expert but I believe tan on the steering wheel and the tail lights should be two beehive. I have an early '53 119xxx but who knows on an even earlier car.

Tim Herman
356 Fan

Re: 52/53 question

#3 Post by Tim Herman »

Tail lights are correct
Beige steering wheel
The Keiper recliner is the optional "Komfort Seat"
Yes to cloth headliner
Tim Herman #2197
www.carreramotorsport.com

Randy Kaplin
356 Fan

#4 Post by Randy Kaplin »

I am no expert on these cars either however I own a '52 that had a history of doing very well in concours events that it was shown in prior to my acquisition of the car. I believe this car is pretty correct.
Attachments
P1020347.JPG
IMG_1025.jpg

Jules Dielen
356 Fan

#5 Post by Jules Dielen »

Thank you Gents! Randy we have twins :) - beautiful car!

i have no idea when these went from the rectangular tail lights to beehives. I can't find any evidence of a modification around the tail lights on mine.
Jules

Jules Dielen
356 Fan

Re: 52/53 question

#6 Post by Jules Dielen »