Hello from Nortern California

For those who couldn't care less how their 356 left the factory!
Greg Banfill
356 Fan
Tag: I build my cars for me to enjoy, not you

Hello from Nortern California

#1 Post by Greg Banfill »

I'm new to 356 ownership, but have been around them and older VW's for quite some time now.

I recently picked up a '54 Coupe that I found on the Samba. It was also for sale here, but I guess no one was interested.

It's a basket case and needs a lot of attention. I'm sure I'll have many questions along the way.

Peter, the seller was great to deal with and I think he's just as happy I got this car as I am.

The car was originally sold in Santa Rosa (where I live) Pete picked it up about 20 miles from my house, one of the old "pink slips" (titles) that came with the car is an address within a mile from my house, so I'm pretty stoked about bringing it back home.

Anyway, here's my car.

As bought heading home on the trailer

and a few hours after getting it to my shop.

I plan on building an "Outlaw" of sorts so I figured I'd start with the wheels and suspension (what I do and know best)

2.5" dropped spindles with disc brakes in the font now with 4.5" Fuchs, and lowered 1 inner spline in the rear with deep 6" Fuchs in the rear on adapters.

Eventually I plan on switching out the brakes for these B brakes (currently on the vert pictured above) already set up for the 5 x 130 pattern.

and if I can get these fronts to work without needing the massive spacer with my 4.5's I'll switch to these B brakes on the front as well.

I've started ging through the boxes of parts I got with the car and I know I'll be searching for some stuff as well as needing help with info as time goes by.
Registry Member #30711
54 Outlaw
VW / Porsche - Vintage Warehouse 
Parting 55 Coupe

Mark Pribanic
356 Fan
Tag: Drive 'Em!

#2 Post by Mark Pribanic »

Greg,