Building an Outlaw - Need Help

For those who couldn't care less how their 356 left the factory!
Kevin Torre
356 Fan

Building an Outlaw - Need Help

#1 Post by Kevin Torre »

Hello All,

I am new to the registry and have gotten some great insight. I have decided to build an Outlaw and just got a crazy quote of $200K (he did say he was on the top end) for a nut and bolt restoration not including the car. Unfortunately I don't have the time to do it myself.

So I am not looking for anything too crazy:

-356C car
-Maybe a type IV engine
-New paint
-New interior

Pretty straight foward. How much should it cost? Ballpark? Any recommendations for a restoration shop?

Thanks!

Kevin

Jose Luis Garcia
356 Fan

Re: Building an Outlaw - Need Help

#2 Post by Jose Luis Garcia »

Did you try Excellence Mag Directory of vendors ? . Also in the Magazine they have been showing very nice 356s Outlaws with : 3.2 Lts Engines , 911 Populus engines, Turbos and Big Bore 912 Engines to name a few . Pretty neat stuff.

Kevin Torre
356 Fan

#3 Post by Kevin Torre »

I have not seen it...I will get it. Thanks!

Rusty Willey
356 Fan

#4 Post by Rusty Willey »

KCW in Grand Junction CO can build you a nice Outlaw for less than half of that unless you are starting out with a third of a car and no parts :D :D My A, the owners Pre A and a half dozen other non stock 356 builds have come out of that shop as well as dozens of magazine featured restorations of vintage VW's. Cool part is, you will most likely be driving the thing less than six months from the time he starts!!! Obviously the sky is the limit and you can throw an endless amount of loot into any project but a cool driver 356 shouldn't cost $200G unless you want it to.
Don't hate me for driving Volkswagens.

Brad K

#5 Post by Brad K »

looks like you passed the more brains than money test :wink: - here's a link to three ex-emory outlaws for sale, which maybe or can be ready for the street: