Disk brake issue on T6 conversion

For those who obsess about exactly how their 356 left the factory!
John Montgomery
356 Fan
Tag: Taxidodger

Disk brake issue on T6 conversion

#1 Post by John Montgomery »

I am new to 356 ownership and hoping to get some advice.
Bought a T6 which has C disk brakes. The pedal feel has never had sufficient "bite" so I have replaced the master cylinder (which apparently came out of a Microbus!) put in new fluid, checked the brake lines (seem to be new) and put in new pads. Pedal pressure is good, but I have to stand on the pedal to get them to work (the wheels will eventually lock, but it feels like the pedal may bend or break).
As I havent driven a good C or CS for comparison, I dont know how they should feel - but I am sure not like this.
I have driven this set up for about 200 miles and recently pulled out the pads and checked for even wear with a micrometer. They are of equal thickness to within a half a mm all around the pad.
Any advice?
many thanks
John

Larry Coreth
356 Fan

Re: Disk brake issue on T6 conversion

#2 Post by Larry Coreth »

If my info is correct the VW Bus master cylinder (>1970) is 22mm in diameter vs. the std. 356 M/C which is 19mm. Now such an increase in diameter translates to a 25% decrease in mechanical advantage. Now in terms of your foot force on the pedal this means a 25% increase required to achieve the same pressure at the caliper piston as the 19mm dia. M/C.
Substituting a larger M/C for “better brakes” is a classic old wives’ tale based on a lack of technical (hydraulic) understanding. What fools most people is the increase in pedal firmness with a larger dia. M/C but the decrease in braking force is not as readily noticed. So bigger is NOT always better !

Thus with a VW Bus M/C this would account for your lack of braking effort !
Larry Coreth
Roanoake Rapids, NC

John Montgomery
356 Fan

#3 Post by John Montgomery »

Larry,