Clutch Problem

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
E. Neil Zuchowski
356 Fan

Clutch Problem

#1 Post by E. Neil Zuchowski »

Working on a 356C that I purchased in boxes. Car is about 95% finished. Engine is a 912 that I rebuilt with a new 200mm flywheel, clutch and throw out bearing. When I depress the clutch pedal, there is no discernable change in pressure. Clutch cable is functioning, throw out bearing lever is moving (about 2 inches) and pedal free play is about an inch. It appears to me that the clutch is not dis-engaging as will not shift into gear while running. I am new to Porsche's but not to rebuilding cars or installing clutches. I am hoping that someone has some great ideas on how I goofed up. Hate to pull the engine again, but it looks like that may be necessary. Thanks in advance. Neil

Martin Benade
356 Fan

Re: Clutch Problem

#2 Post by Martin Benade »

Do you know what throw out bearing is installed? Does it really go with the pressure plate that you are using? When you say no pressure change, do you mean that the pedal moves too freely, not compressing the pressure plate? Has it been together long enough that the clutch disk could be stuck to the flywheel?
Cleveland Ohio
62 Cabriolet
56 VW
02 IS 300
04 Sienna

Vic Skirmants
Registry Hall of Fame

#3 Post by Vic Skirmants »

There have been instances of the clutch arm breaking free of the shaft. If it is intact, try moving the clutch pedal stop up.

Doug McDonnell
356 Fan

#4 Post by Doug McDonnell »

I hate to ask but new 912 flywheel or new 356 flywheel? And part number/where did you buy it?
1965 356C 2000 BMW 740i Sport 1967 Honda CL77 There is never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over.

Thomas Sottile
356 Fan

#5 Post by Thomas Sottile »

How long has the clutch been sitting in the car maybe it is stuck to the flywheel. not uncommon
Last edited by Thomas Sottile on Wed May 01, 2019 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thomas Sottile
356 Fan