Torsion tube bushings first time question

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
Dan Mazur
356 Fan

Torsion tube bushings first time question

#1 Post by Dan Mazur »

Hi Folks,
Ive read up on changing the torsion tube bushings in my C coupe and have the car jacked up, axle rod free of the spring plate, and the cover plate off.
The spring plate is resting on the lower cover plate attachment boss, so it is not free to take an angle measurement.
I assume I can just pry it out a bit until its free of the boss, but since its my first time to do this and the car has been through more than one prior owner, just want to make sure it looks normal before I attempt it.
Thanks for your advise!
Dan
Attachments
Wear on the inside of cover plate from contact with spring plate. No wonder it makes a banging sound over bumps.
Wear on the inside of cover plate from contact with spring plate. No wonder it makes a banging sound over bumps.
Old rock hard and deformed bushing
Old rock hard and deformed bushing
Spring plate resting on cover plate boss
Spring plate resting on cover plate boss
"I never leave Ann Arbor. The real world is too hard to face."

WilliamVaughan
356 Fan

Re: Torsion tube bushings first time question

#2 Post by WilliamVaughan »

What time capsule did you extract that car from? The bushing appears excellent. The cylindrical load bearing surface of the spring plate appears excellent. There are no signs of deep rust pits or flaking rust. No signs of rust at all.

With a pair of nearly parallel eight foot long wood two by fours and other scrap wood and an eye-bolt you can make a lever to twist the torsion bar and thereby lift the rear end of the spring plate with human hand forces.

Put a bolt in the threads shown in your second photo. Put that bolt through the eye-bolt's "eye". That bolt and the now dangling eye-bolt then anchors the front end of the long lever.