1957 356A T1 Newbie Engine Advice Please

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
J Warren
356 Fan

1957 356A T1 Newbie Engine Advice Please

#1 Post by J Warren »

Hey guys,
I am new to the 356 world and have enjoyed reading the forum for the past 6 months. It has saved me some headache for sure. I purchased a 1957 356A T1 Normal Coupe that I plan on my young teenage son and I to bond over while restoring it( still waiting for that part to start). I figure at least its not a video game and we both may learn something. Anyway more about the car. It came from Arizona via California ( I am in the Panhandle of Florida). The story was it in storage to be restored since the 1970's while in Arizona. I bought it from a friend in Georgia who has about 6 or 7 of them he planned to restore. Basically too many cars and not enough time. It has very little rust, original pans, original engine, and was originally a black car. Its a very complete car and I am excited about restoring it.
Now to the question. After reading multiple instructions via this forum, we pulled the engine. It actually went fairly easily. I have a bracket for the engine that fits my engine stand on the way. I have rebuilt US engines in the past but am very hesitant about attempting the mechanicals on this engine. Are there any new books/manuals on the engine rebuild available? I have read multiple forum post dating all the way back to 2008 with most of the older recommendations no longer easily available and manuals that were anticipated highly around 2015 or so ( Block?) unable to be located during my search. I really want a good step by step instruction guide so that I can determine if this is something I want us both to tackle. I already own multiple books including the workshop manual, parts manual, etc...
Being that I have limited experience rebuilding US motors, would it be reasonable to send the case/internals off to have the mechanicals machined with me doing the assembly?