Seeking Engine Advice

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
Steve Kleege
356 Fan

Seeking Engine Advice

#1 Post by Steve Kleege »

I'm new to 356s, but recently acquired a matching-numbers '61 Coupe with the 60 hp engine. I'd like to increase the horsepower in the car to 125-130 hp, but I don't want to extensively modify, or risk damaging, the original engine. Naturally, I'd like to minimize the cash outlay.

My intention is to remove the original engine, pickle it, then install another engine I can flog unrepentantly. I don't care if the replacement engine appears dead-stock, but I want it to appear nearly correct. My inclination is to purchase a turn-key VW Type 1 engine built to ~125 hp. My understanding is that the cost of these engines is significantly less than a comparable 356/912 turn-key engine.

This raises a couple questions:

1. What, if any, modifications are required to install a VW Type 1 in the car and mate it to the existing transmission?
2. Are there other (air cooled, carbureted) options I should consider that would cost approximately the same and could be installed without significant modification to the car?

Thanks, in advance.

Steve

David Jones
Classifieds Moderator
Tag: I wish I knew as much as I think I know.

Re: Seeking Engine Advice

#2 Post by David Jones »

Steve, you need to get more familiar with your 356 before making such ambitious plans. Brakes and suspension would be the first priority and also learn to control the car with the idea of performance enhancements. Do a performance driving school if you have not already done so. Put in at least lap and shoulder belts.