2-part catalyzed paint for small jobs

356 Porsche-related discussions and questions.
Dave Erickson
356 Fan

2-part catalyzed paint for small jobs

#1 Post by Dave Erickson »

I would like to start using a better quality paint for parts that I rebuild (e.g. steering gear, starter motor, distributor). I have been considering a black low-gloss 2-part epoxy or urethane catalyzed paint. I have no experience with these products. Can such a paint be mixed in small quantities and brushed on with satisfactory results?

Bob Cannon
356 Fan

Re: 2-part catalyzed paint for small jobs

#2 Post by Bob Cannon »

I do this all the time, using 1-2 oz volumes for both 2-part epoxy primers and single stage urethane paints. The best way of application is to use a Preval sprayer rather than a brush. Think of it as a "rattle can" with good paint. Be sure to clean out the sprayer very well with solvent afterwards, otherwise they won't work for a second application.
Preval.jpeg
Preval.jpeg (3.88 KiB) Viewed 2713 times
Bob Cannon
Sacramento, CA

Matthew Devereux
356 Fan

#3 Post by Matthew Devereux »

I doubt you could get a good finish with a brush. You could use a small HVLP gun. You can get a body shop supply store to do a spray can for you assuming its a color you can't buy off the shelf which I think is your best bet. I have been told that the low gloss paints don't work very well when put in a spray can (too much flattening agent).
Matthew Devereux
'00 Boxster S
'58 356A coupe

Dave Erickson
356 Fan

#4 Post by Dave Erickson »

Thanks for the tip about the preval sprayer, it looks like a nice unit, with inexpensive replacement parts and cleanup is not such a problem as with a dedicated spray gun.

I still want to know if the urethanes or catalyzed epoxies brush out well, at least on rough surfaces like the iron bodies of distributors and starter motors.

DonCichocki
356 Fan

#5 Post by DonCichocki »

Dave,