It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 5:35 pm 
356 Fan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 4209
Location: San Francisco
Tag: Porsche enthusiast
If you have a problem posting a Classifieds ad (you fill out the "new ad" form and click "Submit" but nothing happens) and you are using the Windows Internet Explorer version 9 browser, it appears that IE V9 is not compatible with the Classifieds software we are using.

Thanks to Chris Pogue for figuring this out. He says "IE9 has a non backward compatibility issue (typical of Microsoft software) with AJAX form controls".

Solutions:

1) Click the “broken page” icon which puts IE9 in compatibility mode (it doesn’t revert back to IE8). See this screen capture. Then try posting your ad again.
Attachment:
File comment: screen capture of IE9 browser, note arrow pointing at the icon you click to put the browser in compatibility mode
ie9-screen-cap.jpg
ie9-screen-cap.jpg [ 81.67 KiB | Viewed 6258 times ]

2) Alternatively, you can download the free Google Chrome browser at http://www.google.com/chrome or the free Firefox browser at http://www.mozilla.com/.

Both of those browsers work fine with all aspects of the Registry website including the Classifieds, and they offer better security than MS IE.

_________________
Barry Brisco
1959 356A Coupe 105553, Ivory / Brown
2009 987 Cayman, Carrera White / Beige (daily driver)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:18 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:21 pm
Posts: 2
I tried posting an add, but at the end there is no "submit" button.
Thanks,
Rich

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:37 am 
Rich Lambert wrote:
I tried posting an add, but at the end there is no "submit" button.
Thanks,
Rich


There is a Save button bottom left.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:34 am 
356Talk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 1911
Location: San Pedro, CA 90732
Tag: Be Nice!
I just sent a test ad and it worked fine - there are a series of boxes to check and a 'save' button as Brian says above. I am running IE9 and Windows7
Greg Bryan
Talk Moderator

_________________
Greg Bryan
356Talk Moderator


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:31 am 
356 Fan

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:21 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks guys,

Turns out I was putting a $ in the price box. My mistake.

Thanks again,
Rich

_________________


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:59 am 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I use google chrome, and haven't been able to place a new ad in weeks. What changed?

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:53 pm 
356Talk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 1911
Location: San Pedro, CA 90732
Tag: Be Nice!
Greg - since there are many new classifieds posted every day, I can only conclude that there is something wrong on your side.
Try doing one on a different computer as an experiment. Make sure you're signed in, as well.

_________________
Greg Bryan
356Talk Moderator


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:43 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I was signed in as usual, and have posted MANY ads from this computer, this modem, etc. I didn't do any updates or changes.

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:54 pm 
356Talk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 1911
Location: San Pedro, CA 90732
Tag: Be Nice!
I have brought this thread to the attention of the Classifieds monitor, Rhys, as he may have more insight than I.

_________________
Greg Bryan
356Talk Moderator


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:56 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Great - thanks!

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:04 am 
356 Fan

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:23 pm
Posts: 67
Location: Seattle, Washington
Hello Greg, and others who are having trouble with the classifieds!

With some of the recent changes to our system some people are still having trouble posting to the classifieds. What I have been telling people is
a) Try signing out of your account and signing back in. This can sometimes act as a 'reset' and has helped a member or two.
b) Try using a different browser. If you use Chrome, try Explorer, or whatever other browser your feel prefer.
c) Some folks are having to post the add and then edit in the photos. I am told that our new system will accept larger photos!
d) If all these fail please don't hesitate to reach out to me! Or, if you would just prefer hearing these suggestions straight from the horses mouth, I am more than excited to help!

FYI, I have been hearing fewer and fewer folks with issues compared with 2 weeks ago! We are making progress.
Thanks to all who have reached out already.

Rhys




Greg Dunn wrote:
Great - thanks!

_________________
1964 Coupe "Homer"
Instagram: @therhys


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:49 am 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I just signed out and back in, and it works!

Thanks for the assistance.

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:09 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Nope - wouldn't let me post today, so I signed out and back in again, and it said entity too large. So I tried it again with no photos.

It works, but it won't let me add photos, even in edit mode after it's posted.

This is really frustrating.

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:10 am 
356Talk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 1911
Location: San Pedro, CA 90732
Tag: Be Nice!
Greg - how big are the photo files you are trying to post, i.e., how many MBs? Some cameras take HUGE file size pics. If they are real big, that can cause a problem. There are lots of classifieds being posted - just saying ...

_________________
Greg Bryan
356Talk Moderator


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:54 am 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I can't remember off the top of my head, but they are the exact same size photos I have always posted, and I've posted lots of ads before.

_________________
Always buying and selling parts and even cars. Feel free to let me know your needs or if there is a parts lot available, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group